When was rudolph the red nosed reindeer written?

Rudolph the red nosed reindeer was written in1939

---

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer first appeared in 1939. The Montgomery Ward department store had one of its copywriters, 34-year-old Robert L. May, create a Christmas story the store could give away to shoppers as a promotional gimmick.