How is flour bleached?

Bleached flour uses bleaching agents (commonly benzoyl peroxide & chlorine gas, among others) to speed up the flour's aging process. This results in a whiter, finer-grain flour with a softer texture. The bleaching process softens the flour, the effects of which are reflected in finished baked goods