Why is glacier ice blue?

In glaciers, the pressure causes the air bubbles to be squeezed out, increasing the density of the created ice. Small amounts of regular ice or water appears white because of air bubbles inside them. but Large quantities of water appears blue, as it absorbs other colours more efficiently than blue.