What happens if you get stung by a hornet?

The venom will cause pain, swelling, redness and itching at the site of the sting. The reaction is promoted by the release of histamine in the skin.Most reactions are relatively mild and resolve within 24 hours. However, some reactions will become more pronounced,reaching its peak in 24 to 48 hours.