What does a minecraft lightning rod do?

Lightning rods can be oriented in different directions. rods redirect lightning strikes with spherical volume having a radius of 128 blocks in Java Edition and 64 blocks in Bedrock Edition. The block emits particles during thunderstorms as an indicator. Lightning rods do not divert the lightning