Why does hair get staticky?

Static hair happens when hair becomes charged with electricity. There’s much less humidity in the air during colder months, which causes hair to become dry and more prone to static. It’s also made worse by woolen textures, for example wearing pullovers and hats, thus causing an increase in static.