How did heinz fifty seven get its name?

Henry J. Heinz introduced the marketing slogan 57 pickle Varieties" in 1896. The first product to be promoted under the 57 varieties slogan was prepared horseradish and by 1940, the term Heinz 57 had become so synonymous with the company the name was used to market a steak sauce.