What is the song edelweiss about?

"Edelweiss,” a musical tribute to his homeland, is sung by Baron von Trapp at the concert. Evoking an authentic Austrian folk ballad, the song serves as subtle protest against the Nazi annexation of the Captain's beloved Austria in the play and the movie "The Sound of Music"