Why is the football called pigskin?

Footballs were originally inflated with the bladders of animals, including those from pigs. In These animal bladders were placed inside a leather cover, giving rise to the term “pigskin.” The bladder of pig was inflated into more of an oval shape than the familiar pointed tips of today’s game balls.