Who invented the lid?

John Landis Mason (1832 in Vineland, New Jersey – February 26, 1902), was an American tinsmith and the patentee of the metal screw-on lid for antique fruit jars that have come to be known as Mason jars. Many such jars were printed with the line "Mason's Patent Nov 30th 1858".