Why do we have snot?

Snot keeps the lining of your nose moist and warms the air you breathe. it also protects the lungs. When you breathe in air through your nose, it contains lots of tiny things, like dust, dirt, germs, and pollen. Snot collects these particles so they don't irritate the lungs or cause infection