What's a transition word?

Transition words link words, phrases, and sentences. Some examples are and, in addition to, furthermore, besides, too, than, another, both-and, first, second, etc.. again, further, last, finally, not-only/but-also, as well as, next, in the second place, likewise, similarly, in fact, and for example.