Why do they call a hot dog a hot dog?

The term was current at Yale in the fall of 1894, when "dog wagons" sold hot dogs at the dorms.The name most likely began as a joke about the Germans' small, long, thin dogs.Germans even called the frankfurter a "little-dog" or "dachshund" sausage, thus linking "dog" to their popular concoction.