Can axolotls breathe out of water?

Axolotls can breathe out of water but only for very short periods of time. It’s important that they remain in water to allow them to breathe properly; axolotls can become seriously unwell or even die if taken out of water for even a few minutes. Axolotls are a relative of the salamander family.