Who created the philosophical razor?

The English Franciscan friar William of Ockham (c. 1287–1347), a philosopher and theologian, is attributed with the idea, a razor is a principle that allows one to eliminate unlikely explanations, It is sometimes paraphrased by a statement like "the simplest solution is most likely the right one".