When was the first congressional medal of honor awarded?

The Medal of Honor, presented by Congress, was first awarded by the US Navy in 1861.

---

The correct term is Medal of Honor, not Congressional Medal of Honor. The first Army Medal of Honor was awarded to Private Jacob Parrott during the American Civil War for his role in the Great Locomotive Chase.