Where did the phrase there's more than one way to skin a cat come from?

There's more than one way to skin a cat means there are many ways to do something, there are many ways to achieve a goal. The oldest known use of the phrase dates back to 1854, in the work 'Way down East; or, Portraitures of Yankee Life by Seba Smith.