What is t. o. u. g. h. t.?

T-O-U-G-H-T is a common misspelling of the word "taught," properly spelled T-A-U-G-H-T, as the past tense of the verb "teach." It can also be a typographical misspelling of "thought," correctly spelled T-H-O-U-G-H-T; or possibly "tough," correctly spelled T-O-U-G-H.