How do clouds turn gray?

Clouds can be gray because of their thickness or height. But basically, clouds look gray when they block out sunlight. A cloud gets thicker as it gathers more water droplets and ice crystals. The thicker a cloud gets, the less light can pass through it. So, grayer clouds equals more water in them.