What is the three tire rule?

According to car insurance.com,comprehensive coverage will cover three slashed tires, or any amount of slashed tires, whether it is one or four.It is a popular misconception that insurance companies won't cover three slashed tires, that it would have to be all four for the car owner to file a claim.