What is the origin of the word california?

The word california was first used in a novel, "Las sergas de Esplandian", written by Garci Rodriguez de Montalvo in the 16th century. De Montalvo used the name, Island of California, for a fictional island in the book. He was likely inspired by the Arabic word Khalif or Khalifa.