How did the challenger explode?

The explosion of the Challenger was caused by an external tank explosion. The space shuttle broke apart because gasses in the external fuel tank mixed, exploded, and tore the space shuttle apart. The external fuel tank exploded after a rocket booster came loose and ruptured the tank.

---

The cause of the explosion was a part called an O-ring that broke in the right solid rocket booster.