What's the difference between minestrone soup and vegetable soup?

Minestrone, contains similar vegetables as traditional vegetable soup, but the addition of pasta and beans makes it a more thick, hearty and filling vegetable soup. "Minestrone" comes from the Italian word "minestra", which means "soup".

---

The two are very similar. Minestrone can be called a vegetable soup, but it is more hearty and wholesome than most vegetables soups with the addition of beans and pasta, and sometimes rice. The word minestrone indicates a thick vegetable soup in English language.