What's the difference between a symphony and and orchestra?

The terms symphony and Orchestra can be interchangeably utilized to describe an ensemble comprised of a string section, woodwind and brass section, and a percussion section. Orchestra can also mean it is strings only. The term symphony also describes a musical composition.

---

A symphony is music. An orchestra is the group musicians with various orchestral instruments who play the music.