Why do guinea pigs grind their teeth?

Persistent teeth grinding typically has a physical cause rather than an emotional one, and a trip to the vet may be in order. Sometimes guineas grind their teeth when in pain If that’s not the problem, the grinding likely signals frustration, similar to the hiss.