Why is it called the ceiling?

The word Ceiling was formed from the Middle English word celing (“paneling, cover, or hanging") and the French words celen (“to cover or panel walls”) and the Old French word celer (“to conceal”) then with the addition of -ing. Most likely influences by the Latin word caelum "heaven, sky"