Give me an example of a predicate in a sentence?

A predicate is the part of a sentence, or a clause, that tells what the subject is doing or what the subject is. Let's take the same sentence from before: “The cat is sleeping in the sun.” The clause sleeping in the sun is the predicate; it's dictating what the cat is doing.