Is a potato bad if it's green?

Chlorophyll gives some potatoes their green color is completely harmless. In fact, it's present in many of the plant foods you eat every day. Nevertheless, greening in potatoes can also signal the production of something less desirable and potentially harmful a toxic plant compound called solanine.