What's the difference between catnip and catnip?

Catnip will tolerate poor soil and will reseed and spread readily, becoming a nuisance in warmer climates. Plant it where you can keep it in bounds, or grow it in a container. Catmint, on the other hand, grows in a single clump as doesn't spread or reseed as easily.