Is there a u. s. embassy in every country?

No, there isn't. The U.S.A. only has embassies in countries 'recognized' by the U.S. with the exceptions of the following; Bhutan, Iran, Maldive, North Korea, Syria, and Yemen. To find out if a country has a U.S. Embassy, check www.usembassy.gov