When did the dodo bird go extinct?

The dodo bird went extinct in 1681, due to Dutch sailors hunting them to extinction.

---

Although the dodo bird became extinct in 1681, its story is not over. We are just beginning to understand the effects of its extinction on the ecosystem. Recently a scientist noticed that a certain species of tree was becoming quite rare on Mauritius.