How do you take care of hydrangeas?

If you plant them in the summer, they need a lot more water in the beginning to establish the root system. Most varieties thrive in full sun to part shade, as long as they are planted in moist, rich soil. Water deeply once a week, and maybe more, if the weather is particularly hot or dry.