What is bio engineered foods?

Bio engineered food is food that contains genetic Material that has been modified in a laboratory. As of 2022 bioengineered food has to carry a label. There are many reasons why this is done such as making food more nutritious or tasty, making plants pest resistant or making crops grow faster.