How do you tell if a hermit crab is a boy or a girl?

Females have tiny genitalia called gonopores near the abdomen on the back of their legs that look like two tiny holes, makes don’t have them. You can only see them when they’re out of their shell or almost out. You shouldn’t force the hermit crab out of its shell or you could harm it.