Why did the u. s. s. arizona sink?

The Japanese planes hit it with several torpedos during the attack on Pearl Harbor December 7, 1941.

---

The U.S.S. Arizona sank due to the explosion of a powder magazine, which basically tore the ship in half. This was in turn caused by one of the bombs dropped by Japanese bombers that struck her on 7 Dec 19 41.