Is a black scorpion a thing?

Yes, the black scorpion (Heterometrus longimanus), or the Asian forest scorpion, is a resident of tropical Asian regions. Black scorpions typically live under logs and other natural debris. They are large arachnids, averaging over 10 centimeters in length, with a painful, though not lethal, sting.