What does c. v. s. stand for?

CVS stands for Consumer Value Stores. 1964 — The chain grows to 17 stores. ... 1967 — CVS begins operation of its first stores with pharmacy departments, opening locations in Warwick and Cumberland, Rhode Island. 1969 — CVS is sold to Melville Corporation.