What is the origin of the song edelweiss?

"Edelweiss" is a show tune that was created specifically for the 1959 Rodgers and Hammerstein musical "The Sound of Music". It is named after the edelweiss, a white flower found high in the Alps, and was a statement of Austrian patriotism in the face of Nazi pressure.