What's a tool for measuring diameter?

The diameter of a circle is two times the radius. The radius is measured from the center of the circle to the edge of that circle. This can be done by using a compass. A simple compass will have the measurements up to 5 or 6 inches giving you a ten or twelve inch diameter respectively.