Do cats purr when they're angry?

Cats purr whenever they're happy, even while they're eating. Sometimes, however, a cat may purr when they're anxious or sick, using their purr to comfort themself, like a child sucking their thumb. Growling, hissing or spitting indicate a cat who is annoyed, frightened, angry or aggressive.