How many characters in the chinese language?

There are over 50,000 Chinese characters. However, according to the BBC you can expect less than 20,000 to used in a modern dictionary, an educated Chinese person would know about 8,000 and you could be able to read a newspaper if you knew only 2,000 or 3,000 characters.