How many cups in a half pound?

While a half pound and a cup are both 8oz, it depends on what you are measuring; for example, a half a pound of all-purpose flour is almost 2 cups, chopped walnuts is 1.8 cups, chocolate chips is 1.4 cups, white sugar is 1.3 cups, butter is 1 cup, and packed dark brown sugar is .95 cups.