Where does the pan-american highway begin in end?

The Pan-American Highway is a road network from Proodhoe Bay Alaska to Ushuaia, Argentina, although officially the road designated as the Pan American Highway is only the South American portion. There is a gap of about 70 miles between Panama and Colombia that must be gotten around by sea.