How do you fish in pokemon sword?

To fish for water-type Pokemon in Sword and Shied, find a patch of water that has a black circle that bubbles. This is a fishing spot. Press A on the spot to start a fishing minigame. Wait for an exclamation point to appear over your head. Then, quickly tap the A button to initiate a battle.