What's the paper inside of a hershey's kiss called?

The paper is called a plume. Originally designed as a flag for the "Hershey's" brand, the printed paper plumes were added to the product wrapper in 1921 in order to distinguish the Hershey's Kiss from its competitors who offered similar products.