Why do fish stink?

The problem, or stink, arises when fish are killed and bacteria and fish enzymes convert TMAO into trimethylamine (TMA), which gives off the characteristic fishy odor. This chemical is especially common in the flesh of cold-water surface-dwelling fish like cod.