Why is corn beef pink?

Today's corned beef is now brined or cured using a salt water or sodium nitrite mixture, which fixes the pigment in the meat and causes it to be pink in color. That's why corned beef remains pink after cooking, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture Food Safety and Inspection