What's a dental alloy?

Dental alloys are commonly custom precision-cast for restoration of missing tooth structure, but wrought forms (shaped by the manufacturer or the clinician) are also common, and dental amalgam is an alloy that forms in situ in a tooth cavity preparation after mixing of a Ag–Sn alloy with mercury.