What does the don't tread on me flag mean?

The Gadsden Flag, popularly known as the "Don't Tread on Me" flag, shows a coiled rattlesnake ready to strike in self-defense. It as first used in the American Revolution by the Continental Marines, and later other American forces, to show that they were ready to defend their freedoms.