How do people get paid on tiktok?

You can make some money on TikTok with views, likes and followers. However, it’s not much. The way TikTok-ers make the bulk of their money is through sponsored or product placement type deals. So, you need a large following to be a desirable content creator for ads/product sponsorship. Or sell merch